Endowed Fellowships

Endowed Fellowships


Major gifts to underwrite the Fellowship residencies are essential to our ability to offer them. By design, the Fellowship Program generates no revenue. Its purpose is to provide, without charge, time and space to emerging artists and writers so they can do new work. To run the Program each year, it costs the Work Center nearly $30,000 per Fellow, for a total of approximately $600,000. Annual Fellowships give recognition to major donors whose contributions help fund one or more residencies in the year the gift is made. Endowed Fellowships give recognition to major donors, and their families and friends, whose contributions to our endowment over the years help provide support in perpetuity, based on investment income, for the cost of a residency each year. The following Annual and Endowed Fellowships support our Fellows in residence. We thank the donors of these Fellowships, both past and present, for their generosity in providing this support.

Annual Fellowships 
A donation of $30,000 a year provides an Annual Fellowship for an artist or write in the year it is made.  This level of support may be renewed annually.

Below is a list of current annual Fellowships. 

Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation Fellowship in Fiction 

Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation Fellowship in Poetry

Endowed Fellowships
Currently, a gift of $100,000 establishes an Endowed Fellowship that will underwrite a yearly Fellowship in perpetuity.

Elise Asher Visual Arts Fellowship

Iva Kaplan Ashner Creative Writing Fellowship 

Milton and Sally Avery Visual Arts Fellowship 

Louise Bourgeois Visual Arts Fellowship 

Alan Dugan/Judith Shahn Fellowship in Creative Writing/Visual Arts
Richard Florsheim Visual Arts Fellowship 

Robert C. Graham Visual Arts Fellowship 

Stanley Kunitz Fellowship in Poetry

Christine Fairchild Magriel Visual Arts Fellowship

Robert Motherwell Visual Arts Fellowship

Hunter O’Hanian Fellowship
Grace Paley Creative Writing Fellowship 

George Rickey Visual Arts Fellowship

Alix Ritchie and Marty Davis Fellowship in Creative Writing/Visual Arts 
David Shainberg Visual Arts Fellowship

Margaret Murphy Fellowship
Myron Stout Visual Arts Fellowship 

Kenneth Stubbs Visual Arts Fellowship 

Hudson D. and Ione Walker Fellowship in Creative Writing and Visual Arts
Bill Webb Fellowship for Fiction