Current News & Media Coverage

Summer Program: faculty member Vijay Seshadri wins the Pulitzer for poetry.

 Read more here






Poet Major Jackson (writing Fellow 2000-2001) has been elected the new Chair of the Fine Arts Work Center's Writing Committee

We are proud to announce that poet Major Jackson (writing Fellow 2000-2001) has been elected the new Chair of the Fine Arts Work Center's Writing Committee, which has overseen all aspects of the Writing Fellowship program since 1969.

Major is the author of three collections of poetry: Holding Company (W.W. Norton, 2010) and Hoops (W.W. Norton, 2006), both finalists for an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literature-Poetry, and Leaving Saturn (University of Georgia, 2002), winner of the 2001 Cave Canem Poetry Prize and finalist for a National Book Critics Award Circle.  He is also a recipient of a Whiting Writers' Award and has been honored by the Pew Fellowship in the Arts and the Witter Bynner Foundation in conjunction with the Library of Congress.  Major is the Richard Dennis Green and Gold Professor at the University of Vermont and a core faculty member of the Bennington Writing Seminars.  He served as a creative arts fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University, as the Jack Kerouac Writer-in-Residence at University of Massachusetts-Lowell and currently serves as the Poetry Editor of the Harvard Review.  


 Major succeeds Roger Skillings (writing Fellow 1969-1970, 1970-1971).   A member of the very first group of Writing Fellows in 1969, Roger has been the Work Center's stalwart supporter for 46 years, including a long tenure as Chair of the Writing Committee; Roger will remain a member of the Writing Committee, where we will continue to benefit from his erudition, discernment, and friendship.  Roger is the author of several novels and story collections, including Ptown Stories or the Meatrack, How Many Die, Obsidian, Where The Time Goes, and Alternative Lives, and the poetry collection A Memory for Marisa Rose.  His new collection, Summer Nights, is forthcoming this year.

Ari Banias (writing Fellow 2011-2012, 2013-2014) has won the 2014 Cecil Hemley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America for his poem "On Pockets."  Ari was also recently awarded the Wallace Stegner Fellowship in poetry to Stanford University.


ARI BANIAS is the recipient of fellowships from the New York Foundation for the Arts, Headlands Center for the Arts, Djerassi, the Fine Arts Work Center, and the Wisconsin Institute for Creative Writing.  His poems have appeared in Gulf Coast,  DIAGRAM, Guernica, FIELD, Subtropics, and elsewhere, and he’s the author of a chapbook, What’s Personal is Being Here With All of You (Portable Press @ Yo-Yo Labs, 2012).  This fall, he will be a Stegner Fellow in poetry at Stanford

Sara Eliza Johnson (writing Fellow 2009-2010) has won the National Poetry Series, and her first collection, Bone Map, will be published by Milkweed Editions in Fall 2014.  
Her winning manuscript was selected by judge Martha Collins.
Read more about the National Poetry Series here

Fiona McFarlane's debut novel, The Night Guest, is a finalist for the Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, sponsored by the Los Angeles Times.  Fiona was a fiction Fellow in 2006-2007 and 2007-2008.
Read more in the New York Times here

In Memory of Maxine Kumin (1925-2014)

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Maxine Kumin was a longtime friend and supporter of the Fine Arts Work Center, as well as being a regular faculty member in the Summer Program.  Her work had a great impact on American letters, and she will be missed by the Provincetown community and all who were lucky enough to spend time with her here.


Read more in the New York Times here