Current News & Media Coverage

Poetry Fellow Louise Glück (1969-1970) and Writing Committee Member Claudia Rankine have been short-listed for the National Book Award in poetry.
Read more here

Poetry Fellow Solmaz Sharif (2011-2012) has won 2 prestigious awards this Month.

She is a recipient of both the 2014 Rona Jaffe  Foundation Writers' Award, which identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent in the early stages of their writing careers.

In addition, she has also won a 2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship which is one of the largest awards offered to aspiring poets in the United States.

Read more about this here and here





Poetry Fellow Tim Seibles (1991-1992) will receive the Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize on Nov. 11  which recognizes his most recent book of poems, Fast Animal.
WILKES-BARRE, Pa. (August 11, 2014) – Tim Seibles, a Philadelphia native and Norfolk, Va. resident, will receive the Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize on Tuesday, Nov. 11 at Saginaw Valley State University in Michigan. The award ceremony is part of the six-day Roethke Poetry and Arts Festival sponsored by the SVSU Board of Fellows. Seibles’ award recognizes his most recent book of poems, Fast Animal, released by Etruscan Press in January of 2012.
Fast Animal has won two other awards: The National Book Award for Poetry Finalist in 2012 and the PEN Oakland Josephine Miles Literary Award in 2013. The Roethke Poetry Prize has been awarded since 1968 (generally on a triennial basis) to such Poet Laureates as Robert Penn Warren (1971), and Robert Pinsky (2008). In advance of receiving the Roethke Prize, Seibles is available for interviews and readings in select cities across the country.
Publisher's Weekly describes Fast Animal as "Crisply comic, disarmingly frank, and aurally bold." Seibles describes Fast Animal as a collection of poems that does not necessarily cater to the intellectually elite. Instead, his highly imaginative writing style is what makes his poems available to all types of readers. Regardless of whether the reader is someone who enjoys poetry casually and only on occasion, a fellow poet, or a professor of poetry, Seibles is confident there is something for everyone in Fast Animal.
Read complete press release here

John Skoyles (Fellow and former Executive Director) publishes his new novel, A Moveable Famine, to raves.

Booklist writes, “It’s hard to believe that a funnier novel will be published this year.”

Read a collection of reviews here


Michael Cunningham's altered states of reality 

Read the article that came out this week in the Irish Times about his new bookThe Snow Queen  

... more


Rebecca Gayle Howell, who is coming back this Fall as a second-year poetry Fellow, has been named poetry editor at the Oxford American.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     








Writing Coordinator and Fellow (2011-2012) Matthew Neill Null has won the Mary McCarthy Prize in short fiction His collection, Allegheny Front, will be published in Spring 2016. He is also the winner of a grant from the St. Botolph Club Foundation.
“Allegheny Front remains at a distance from judgment, at 
a remove from easy definitions, unspooling a lucid and often 
painful history of appetite, exploitation, and bereavement.”
 —Lydia Millet

Read more here.








The Snow Queen, the new novel by Michael Cunningham (writing Fellow 1980-1981), receives a rave review from the New York Times Book Review.

Read more here




Writing Committee member Claudia Rankine has been awarded the $50,000 Jackson Poetry Prize, which is “given annually to an American poet of exceptional talent who deserves wider recognition.”

The judges' citation states, "The moral vision of Claudia Rankine’s poetry is astounding. In a body of work that pushes the boundaries of the contemporary lyric, Rankine has managed to make space for meditation and vigorous debate upon some of the most relevant and troubling social themes of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Maintaining a firm grasp upon the tools we normally associate with the lyric poet, such as associative shifts and leaps, allusion, sonic agility, elegy, and a deep and resonant imagery, Rankine’s poems also foster a quite nearly cinematic sense of suspense, striking notes of urgency, anxiety, and momentous inevitability. In particular, the collections Don’t Let Me Be Lonely and Citizen: An American Lyric invite the reader to empathize with the social 'other,' with victims of violent aggression committed in hatred and ignorance, and with speakers subject to a more generalized American malaise. These poems do the work of art of the highest order—teaching, chastening, changing, astounding, and humanizing the reader. It was very easy to discern the value of this poet’s body of work. In both vision and voice she has distinguished herself as a singular perspective, a consummate talent, and a courageous spirit. We are unanimous and enthusiastic in our decision to award her the 2014 Jackson Poetry Prize."