Current News & Media Coverage



We are saddened to learn that poet Wendy Battin (Writing Fellow 1976-1977, 1977-1978) has passed away.  Her debut, In the Solar Wind, won a National Poetry Series Award in 1984, selected by William Matthews. Her second collection, Little Apocalypse, won the Richard Snyder Memorial Publication Award in 1997.  She also won a Discovery/The Nation Award and grants from the NEA and the Ingram Merrill Foundation.  Wendy graduated from Cornell University and the University of Washington and taught at many institutions, including MIT, Smith College, Syracuse University, Boston University, and Connecticut College.  She most recently made her home in Mystic, CT.


Viet Thanh Nguyen (2004-2005) wins the Center for Fiction’s 2015 First Novel Prize for The Sympathizer.


Click here to read more


Writing Fellows Vedran Husić (2013-2014), Peter Ho Davies (1994-1995), and Paul Harding (2000-2001), have been awarded 2016 Prose Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts.


Firelei Báez, Visual Arts Fellow, 2013-2014, is the Winner of the Catherine Doctorow Prize for Contemporary Painting.

Her solo exhibition, Patterns of Resistance, will be on view from September 25, 2015–January 16, Utah Museum of Contemporary Art West Temple, 2016 20 S., Salt Lake City, UT 84101

Click here to read more


Amanda Rea (2007-2008) has been awarded a Rona Jaffe Foundation Award for emerging women writers.

Click here to read more


Jillian Weise (2005-2006, 2004-2005) has won the Poetry Foundation’s J. Howard and Barbara M.J. Wood Prize.

Click here to read more


Visual Arts Fellow Adam Frelin (2005-2006) has received A NYFA 2015 Artists’ Fellowship Program award, and was also recently named a $1 million Bloomberg Philanthropies Public Art Challenge winner.

Click here to read more about the project for Bloomberg Philanthropies,
and here for information about the NYFA 2015 Artists' Fellowship Program Award.

Marie Howe has received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship.

Marie Howe’s collections of poetry include The Kingdom of Ordinary Time (W. W. Norton, 2009), which was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize; What the Living Do (1998); and The Good Thief (Persea, 1988), which was selected by Margaret Atwood for the 1987 National Poetry Series. Her other honors include grants from the Bunting Institute, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts. Howe teaches at Sarah Lawrence College, New York University, and Columbia University. She lives in New York City.
Click here for more info